EE Newsletters

Loose Bits: Weekly Highlights Within EE

November 21, 2003


This week I am very proud to announce that four more of our EE faculty have been elected Fellows of the IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers). This is the highest rank that a member can achieve and recognizes outstanding and unique contributions to our field. Please join me in congratulating:

Prof. and Dean Denice D. Denton -
- for leadership in engineering education and faculty mentoring.

Prof. Les E. Atlas -
- for contributions to time-varying spectral analysis and acoustical signal processing.

Prof. Yasuo Kuga -
- for contributions to backscattering enhancement and imaging in geophysical sensing.

Affiliate Prof. Evan L. Goldstein -
- for contributions to optical communications.

Our EE Department now boasts a total of 22 IEEE Fellows, roughly half of our faculty!

I should also mention that Prof. Evan Goldstein has been elected a Fellow of the Optical Society of America (OSA), and Prof. Deirdre Meldrum has been elected a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS). (Both of these were mentioned in past weeks.)

The stature and notoriety of our faculty is rapidly increasing. Well done, everyone!!!

Enjoy the upcoming Thanksgiving holidays,


Robert Bruce Darling, Ph.D., P.E.
Professor and Acting Chair
University of Washington
Department of Electrical Engineering, Box 352500
Seattle, WA 98195-2500
office phone: 206-616-0959
dept. fax: 206-543-3842