News & Events > Department News

Dean O'Donnell announces new EE Chair: Vikram Jandhyala

Photo of Vikram JandhyalaEE Community,

I am delighted to announce that the EE Chair search has concluded, and that Vikram Jandhyala has agreed to take on this vital leadership role starting on September 16, 2011.

I have been working with Vikram to identify key areas where the college and EE can partner to further the department’s research, teaching, and outreach programs. As part of these discussions, we agreed that we want to maximize communication and interaction among EE staff and faculty about departmental goals and strategies over the next few years. To help start this process, we have scheduled a meeting in EEB403 on August 30 with senior faculty and staff in the department.

Finally, I would like to take this opportunity to thank Leung Tsang for his service as chair, and Jim Ritcey and Sumit Roy for their roles as associate chairs, over the last five years. It has frequently been a thankless job during this difficult era of tight budgets. I would also like to extend my gratitude to the search committee, to the faculty and staff who provided input, and to the several candidates who were identified during the search process. Electrical Engineering is fortunate to have leaders at all levels to propel the department forward.

I wish Vikram and the EE department the best as he builds his leadership team and begins interacting with faculty and staff on critical and strategic issues.



Matthew O'Donnell, Ph.D.
Frank and Julie Jungers Dean of Engineering
Professor, Bioengineering

News & Events  
EE logo